550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 1820 Anchorage, AK 99501

Phone (907) 269-7960 Fax (907) 269-7966

Email jjessee@mhtrust.org



The Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority

December 3, 2000

Ron Adler, Alaska Community Mental Health Services Association

Dr. Jim Allen, UAF

Dr. Jim Berner, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

Dr. Christiane Brems, UAA

Dr. Gary Hughes, University Affiliated Program

Dr. Mark Johnson, UAA

Loren Jones, Division of Mental Health and

Developmental Disabilities

Katsumi Kenaston, Alaska Mental Health

Consumer Web

Beth LaCrosse, NAMI Alaska

Walter Majoros, Alaska Mental Health

Board

Dr. Spero Manson, University of Colorado Jan McGillivary, Mental Health Association

in Alaska

Dr. Gerald Mohatt, UAF

Cynthia Navarrette, Alaska Native Health

Board

Commissioner Karen Perdue, DHSS John Pugh, Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority

Richard Rainery, Alaska Mental Health Board

Jill Ramsey, NAMI Alaska

Millie Ryan, Governor's Council on Disabilities & Special Education

Dr. Brian Saylor, UAA

Anne Schultz, Advisory Board on

Alcoholism & Drug Abuse

Dr. Bernard Segal, UAA

Dr. Kim Shore, Alaska Pacific University Jean M. Steele, Alaska Advocates for the Mentally III

Dr. Shelley Theno, UAS

Doug Veit, Rural Mental Health Providers

Association

Pam Watts, Advisory Board on Alcoholism

& Drug Abuse

Dick Wilson, Alaska Young Family Network

Dear colleagues,

Thank you for participating in the Mental Health Research Steering Committee convened by the Trust on September 15, 2000. We held a lively discussion on how to bring together research, policy, and practice to better improve services to Alaskans with mental illness. The purpose of a mental health research agenda is to assist researchers in prioritizing their projects and to assist funders in understanding where research proposals fit into Alaska's priorities. We are on the right track, but there is some work to do.

Meeting participants agreed that a smaller group would develop a framing document to define the problem of developing best research-based practice and frame some issues. The framing document would include a statement of purpose for Alaska's mental health research agenda. It would also outline a way to establish and prioritize Alaska's mental health research needs, ways to identify and refine research questions, skills and functional requirements to conduct necessary research, identify existing resources, identify projects that could be tailored to available funding, and identify mental health research stakeholders.

I expect that a work group would meet up to 4 times by teleconference over the next couple of months, and bring a document back to the Mental Health Research Steering Committee in March.

I will be contacting these individuals or representatives from their organizations to participate in the work group:

Dr. Gary Hughes Ron Adler Cynthia Navarrette
Dr. Jerry Mohatt Doug Veit Richard Rainey
Dr. Shelley Theno Katsumi Kenaston Millie Ryan
Dr. Shore Beth LaCrosse Anne Schultz
Dr. Spero Manson Jean Steele Jane Demmert

Dr. Leonard Abel Dick Wilson

I have enclosed a copy of the minutes from that meeting to refresh your memory of our conversations and to share with your colleagues.

Thank you for your work on behalf of Alaskans with mental illness.

Sincerely,

/s/

Jeff Jessee

Executive Director

Cc: Trustees

Karl Brimner, Division of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities

Dr. Donna Burgess

Liz Connell, Office of Senator Stevens

Dr. Denny DeGross

Jane Demmert, Alaska Commission on Aging

Dr. Norm Dinges

President Mark Hamilton, University of Alaska

Dr. George Happ Roy Huhndorf Diane Kaplan

President Doug North, Alaska Pacific University

Dr. Dani Raap

Martha Stewart, University of Alaska Dr. Eric Trupin, University of Washington